Powerful

On Wednesday I went to the Imagine Dragon’s concert with one of my best friends. Our “seats” were on the floor, so we got there early to get as close to the stage as we could. I don’t usually like general admission concerts. It usually ends up with a drunk person stepping on me, spilling on me, and/or yelling at me. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the concert, but after standing for 4+ hours, my legs were not having it. After standing through two opening acts and most of the Imagine Dragons’ main performance, I was tired and ready to go home.

They introduced one of their songs and said it was dedicated to a friend of those who had passed away from cancer. His friend that he described was always positive. He didn’t let cancer bring him down; even though cancer took his life, he didn’t let cancer take the best of him.

All of the lights dimmed, and the crowd got quiet. Unbelievably quiet. The song only had an acoustic guitar and a violin. We all paused and took time to think. We thought of the things we chose to complain about. We thought about how insignificant our own problems were.

Suddenly I saw a light from a cell phone shine from the right side of the arena. Just like a fire, the light spread to the entire arena almost instantly. I’ve always loved stars and constellations, but dare I say this was even more beautiful.

IMG_1510

It was the crowd’s way of saying “We know. We understand what you’re saying. And we’re sorry too.”

Even though I’ve always loved music and I’ve been leading people in worship for over five years now, I’ve never understood that music could make that much of an impact. 15,000 people stopped what they were doing, joined together in one communal thought, and just listened. No one told them to do anything, but as a very large group, we were able to convey a message just as the band was conveying theirs.

It was one of the most simple, powerful, and even spiritual experiences with music I’ve ever had. I think it’s something we need to remember as Christians in our worship. We don’t need fancy equipment, loud songs, and bright lights; what we need is conviction and passion in the story that we’re telling.

Leave a Reply

