New Chapter

Many people have asked me what I journal about. “A lot of things,” I usually reply. Sermon notes, song lyrics, my own ideas, scripture, quotes, good lectures from class, angry rants, and cries out to the Lord are just a few of the things that can be found in my journals. Last night I got to have one of the best feelings that I know: I completed a journal.

There’s something about filling an entire book with your own handwriting. As I flipped back to my first entry of that journal on October 3rd, 2013, I was able to physically see how much I have grown in the past few months. My fingers thumbed through page after page seeing all the lessons I have learned in the past few months. I smiled when I read my entry on February 14th, the day when I found out I’m going to be a praise + worship leader next year. My heart ached when I read my entry on December 5th that I learned a good family friend had passed away. And I got to re-read the very first sermon I heard at Trinity Reformed Church on October 27th.

My life is so different since I started my past journal, and I’m so thankful for everything that happened . . . even the hard stuff. So here I am with a brand new journal in front of me. There isn’t a single word written in it yet. I get so excited when I think of all the lessons and stories that will fill this journal. I can’t even begin to picture all of the adventures that will go in this book.

I’m excited to start this new “chapter” of my life. The previous one was wonderful, but it’s time to start fresh. I’m ready to fill these blank pages with new stories, hopes, dreams, failures, struggles, joys, and lessons.

new journal

Leave a Reply

