I Think I’m in Love

This isn’t something that I’d usually post on the internet . . . but it’s something that’s on my mind that I need to get off my chest . . .  I think I’m in love. I wasn’t sure if this really is love, so I decided to Google how you know if you’re in love.

How to know if you’re in love:

  • If you’re really in love, then you shouldn’t be able to picture a future without your loved one in it.
  • If you’re in love, then the one you love should bring out the best in you.
  • If you’re really in love, then you should be able to see that they are not perfect, but they have their flaws too

Well, that confirms it. I am in love with Sioux Center, Iowa. It certainly isn’t something I expected, but it happened nonetheless. Last August when I was packing up my things to head to college, so many of my friends asked “What on Earth are you doing? You are moving from the big city to a teeny, tiny town in northwest Iowa!” And that was an excellent question — what on Earth was I thinking? But you fall in love when you least expect it, right?

I’ve fallen for Sioux Center’s sunsets that paint the sky with more colors than I knew existed.

I love the neighbors that smoke their pipes on their porch and wave to me as I walk to the coffee shop.

I can’t get enough of the smell of cows (which is different than the smell of pigs. That I can live without.)

Although I could do without the snow at the en d of March, I actually really like the fact that the weather is unpredictable; it keeps me on my toes.

I’ve fallen for every last crack in each and every sidewalk.

It’s not something I would have ever chosen for myself. For crying out loud, the number two college on my list was in Los Angeles! I worked all summer just a few miles away from St. Paul. I should not love being in a small town in Northwest Iowa . . . but I do.

They say love is blind, but I really feel like I love Sioux Center for what it is. I know it’s not the big city, and it certainly doesn’t have everything . . . but I love it all. I love the pros and the cons, benefits and drawbacks, ups and downs . . . it’s what love is, right?

It’s crazy, but I really, really like it here. I’m really thankful that I get to live here this summer while working for Dordt, but I’m even more thankful  that this will be my home for the next three years.

Leave a Reply

