Happy

I’m happy.

People asked me if I was sad that I wasn’t living at home this summer. Typically, I’d shrug at them and say “It’s an adventure, living ‘on my own.’ I’m excited to try something different.” These past two weeks have been some of the happiest I’ve ever had.

I love the community here. I love that all us summer workers live in the same building. I get to have my friends over for dinner — and there’s another thing — I GET TO MAKE DINNER. The other day I made broccoli-corn calzones. And I love the fact that I can say “Sure! I’ll get you the recipe!”

I love my roommates. (So far) we’ve figured out a great balance of group-bonding time and alone time. On Saturdays we have pina coladas (virgin ones, guys. Calm down.) Sunday nights we invite everyone in the apartment building over for scones. We learned a dance to the song Classic by MKTO. We watched The Ugly Dachshund last night and admired the 60’s clothes together.

I’m reading again. I’m re-reading some of my favorites and starting some new ones. (I’m currently reading a book of Mary Oliver’s poetry and re-reading Fahrenheit 451.) Because I’m reading more, I’ve also been writing more, and I think that maybe, just maybe, I’m getting a little bit better because of it.

And work is fantastic. Today I learned how to play the mandolin, banjo, and how to use so many different settings on my keyboard. We’ve put together a set list of songs we’re going to play and that’s been exciting. I’ve spent a lot of time with my team just getting to know them better. Our bassist (finally) gets here on Saturday, so we’ll be able to start training intensely soon enough!

Life has been pretty good.

Of course, it’s not all roses. There are minor roommate conflicts like how cold we keep the apartment and what’s “fair game” for food. I hate the fact that I have to wash my dishes by hand. Creating a budget isn’t very fun; sticking to that budget is even worse. And even though cooking meals is fun, there are some days when I wish dinner was waiting for me on the table. (Thanks, Mom for all your hard work. I get it now.)

I have no clue what I would be doing if I was back at home. I saw that Wendy’s by my house was hiring when I was home a few weeks ago. Sometimes I pretend what life would be like if I worked there. I wouldn’t have Pina Colada Saturdays. I wouldn’t know how to play banjo. I wouldn’t have roommates. And I probably definitely wouldn’t be cooking my own meals.

This has been an amazing few weeks here already. I know it’s going to get more stressful once I start traveling with my team, but I just have a really good feeling about this summer.

Leave a Reply

