Dad

I was crying on the basement steps.

“I don’t want to take piano lessons anymore! I’m not good at it, and I don’t like it. I want to quit.”

He looked down at me from the stop of the stairs. “Being good at something doesn’t all come naturally,” he said. “It takes work. If you want to be good at school, you have to work at it. If you want to be good at Club Penguin, you have to play it all the time. And if you want to be good at piano, you’re going to have to practice.”

In the end my dad let me make my own decision, and I quit piano lessons. But I didn’t want to stop playing. Later that year, Taylor Swift’s hit song Love Story started climbing the charts. All I wanted was to know how to play it on piano, so I did everything I could to learn how to play it. I listened to it 24/7. I watched tutorial videos on youtube of how to play it. I started to learn how to play chords. I stumbled and fumbled through wrong notes over and over. After endless hours of practice, I finally had perfected Love Story on the piano.

That was the first song I learned how to play using chords. Now, I use a chords every single day as a worship leader playing piano for a job.

My dad taught me that if you want something, it’s going to take time. Sometimes you’re born with talents, and that certainly helps you get places. But it doesn’t really matter what you’re born with; what matters is what you do with what you’re given. If you want something, you have to work for it.

I’m thankful for my dad, and I can’t imagine my life without him.

10349074_10203539198772995_2116562789128644573_n

 Yes, you wish and you dream with all your little heart. But you remember, Tiana, that old star can only take you part of the way. You got to help him with some hard work of your own. And then… Yeah, you can do anything you set you mind to. Just promise your Daddy one thing? That you’ll never, ever lose sight of what is really important. Okay?

-Princess and the Frog

Leave a Reply

