Time Counter

Whenever I read a book, I have a habit of counting the pages until the end. It just helps me mentally process how much story there is left to be uncovered before the end. I’m the same way when I watch movies on Netflix; I watch the time counter at the bottom so that I can keep up with the story better.

This morning when I woke up my brain did the same thing, except this time it wasn’t a book or a movie. This time I realized that my job is half over. It hit me that I only have one month left of this amazing routine of music, ministry, and building relationships.

This first month has flown by. But, at the same time, I forget that there was a time in my life when this wasn’t my routine. I forget that I wasn’t as close to my teammates as I am now. I forget that I didn’t usually play music every day. I forget that I don’t usually get to hang out with kids on a daily basis. I honestly don’t know what I’m going to do when it’s all over.

But then I realized . . . when I see that I only have 50 pages left in a book, I don’t close it and say “I’m so sad the book is ending!” When there are only 17 minutes left in a TV show I’m watching, I don’t turn it off. Why? Because there is so much more to the story than the exposition.

I’ve got a month left with my team. A month left of coiling cables (which I’m actually starting to get a little tired of. Who would have thought that would happen?) A month left of meeting new faces and learning new stories. A month left of making amazing music.

And the best part is that when this section of my life reaches a close, I get to start a new one. But more on that later. For now, I’ve got a story to finish.

https://i0.wp.com/photos-a.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xpa1/10507874_334938233321472_1658054010_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

