Snotty Christianity

“Hey, I just got an All Sons & Daughters album for free! I think you’d really like them!”
“Yeah, I’ve been listening to them for a while now.”

“Have you head the song God’s Great Dance Floor by Chris Tomlin?”
“Blahhh . . . yeah I have.”
“Oh, I take it you don’t like it then.”
“Absolutely not!”

I am incredibly guilty of being a snobby Christian. I don’t listen to 96.5, the Christian radio station where I live. I didn’t see God’s Not Dead. I like Hillsong, but I certainly don’t start drooling when someone starts talking about the new album they released.

I like the way I live my life. I like the music I listen to, the church I attend, the books I read, the way I plan worship sets . . . I think that they are good. But my way of life is not the only way of life.

I read an article this morning called The Dangers of Being a Christian Culture Snob. I strongly encourage you to read this article. Michael Wear talks about how a friend of his really wanted to go see God’s Not Dead, and he went kicking and screaming. Wear admits that there are several flaws in the movie, but he walked away challenged about some things in his faith. This caused him to ponder his extreme judgement on the movie before. He writes:

Our preference for sophistication can be a stumbling block in our own faith and the faith of others. Judgment in the name of sophistication has somehow remained acceptable, even laudable, in today’s culture that scorns judgment in other forms.

Yet, when applied to matters of faith, this sort of judgment can be just as harmful. When our cultural tastes start making people feel inferior for how they relate to God, then our cultural tastes have become a danger. We can convince people that God is unreachable and far away, when our God is close and wants to be known.

I am so guilty of judging people’s faiths. When people go to a church that is different than mine, when people listen to different music, read devotional books that I don’t like, I roll my eyes, sigh deeply and say “Oh . . . I see.” I assume that their faith isn’t nearly developed as mine.

But the truth is just because I live my life one way doesn’t mean that that’s how everyone should live their life. God cannot be limited. He is a God of diversity; He can’t be put into a box. God is love; God is not confined to music you probably haven’t heard of or churches that use fancy lights during their service. We should be eagerly seeking after God and learning more and more from him every day. Let us not limit how God works to our cultural preferences.

So yeah, I can be a bit of a culture snob. I listen to music that isn’t played on the radio. I watch Ted Talks and listen to podcasts. I have a blog, for crying out loud! I like learning this way; this is how I prefer to process my faith, but that isn’t the only way that the Lord speaks. The Lord works through God’s Not Dead, Chris Tomlin songs, and so many things that I am not necessarily instantly attracted to.

God is God. I am not. Who am I to say where God can and cannot work?

One Comment

Leave a Reply

