Different Yet the Same

One of my favorite things about life has always been when you see a good friend after a very long time. Your eyes meet from across the room, you stop exactly what you’re doing, and you run as fast as you can. You hug that person so tightly that you can feel their diaphragm move vigorously as you’re both laughing.

I’ve had the blessing of experiencing that moment over and over and over again since coming back on campus.

It is almost unbelievable to think about how different I am than I was this time last year. I told myself I wouldn’t change. I thought I had it figured out. I went through a lot of changes my senior year . . . I decided where I was going to college, my mom had thyroid cancer, I had first job, I became super close with my class, I cut off eight inches of hair . . . I was so confident in who I was.

But things changed. A year since I started college my life looks so different. I switched my major from digital media production to theology. I now work for Campus Ministries instead of the Advancement Office. I consider my “church home” to be at Trinity Reformed Church in Orange City. My best friends are people I didn’t even know a year ago.

All that being said, I’m still Marta. I’m still the same person. I still love The Lion King and Spiderman. I still love choir. I’m still super clumsy and sometimes dislocate my knee. I still dance in the car when I’m driving. I’m still me.

I have a wall of pictures next to my desk. Some are from when I was little. Some are from high school. Most of them are from the past year. Last year was one of the most life-shaping years I’ve experienced (thus far). It doesn’t make me any less thankful for other moments in my life . . . in fact, it just makes me more excited for this next year to come. I can’t wait to think of where I’ll be this time next year. I can’t wait to see all the people I come running to at the beginning of next year.

But for now . . . let sophomore year begin.

unnamed

Leave a Reply

