Forget What I Just Said

Remember how yesterday I said that I was ready for this year?

I’m not.

Day one of classes and I’ve already learned that I know absolutely nothing. That’s what will happen when you take philosophy and theology classes: you learn that you know nothing.

And that scares me.

I like answers. I like routine. I like order.

I do not like not knowing answers. I don’t like when the professor says “I’m excited to wrestle through these questions with you.” I feel like standing up and saying “I’m afraid of wrestling. I have a little brother. Know what happened to me when we used to wrestle when I was a kid? I got bruises. And bruises hurt. A lot.”

This is going to be a semester of a lot of growth for me. A lot, a lot, a lot. And to be honest, I’m quite nervous to see where I’ll be a year from now.

Day two of sophomore year, here I come.

Leave a Reply

