Flower Among Thorns

I pass this bush every day on my way to class. There’s one, lonely pink flower left on it. I’m sure at one point there were several flowers on it, but for now all that remains is the solitary pink flower.

I’m sure this flower, if it had the ability to do so, questions it’s purpose. “What am I doing here? Why am I so alone? Does anyone even notice me? Would the world look any different if I didn’t exist?” It looks around and can only see thorns; little does it know that it is, in fact, a rose.

You, my friend, are a flower among the thorns. No matter how alone you feel, no matter how worthless you feel, and no matter how many thorns surround you day-in and day-out, know that your story matters. Let me say it again: your story matters. Friend, “you are here for more than grades, more than a job, more than a promotion, more than keeping up, more than getting by. You don’t have to fake it. You do not have to fake it. Other people feel this way too.

You woke up this morning for a purpose, and I truly believe that. The fact that you are alive, there is breath in your lungs, and you have a pulse, is not an accident. There is hope; I promise you that the pain will end. How do I know? Because Jesus the Anointed One promised me, and He promised you, that.

Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God.He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” (Rev. 21: 3-4 ESV)

I long in expectation and anticipation waiting for the days when there is no pain, or crying, or mourning, because, dear friend, sometimes all I can see are thorns too.

It’s a whole lot easier to see beauty when you’re outside of the situation. So let’s promise each other something: I promise to proclaim beauty to this world. I promise that when I see these flowers in my life, I will stop, acknowledge them, and let them know that they give me hope. It is my prayer, that if we all take time to acknowledge the beautiful things, people, stories, and flowers, we encounter everyday, the world will stop seeming so dark and lonely.

Today is National Suicide Prevention Day. Never forget that you are loved, you are valued, you a treasured, and your story is oh-so-important.

FullSizeRender

For more information on how to receive help and hope in struggles with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide, visit twloha.com

One Comment

  1. My dearest Marta. I too have noticed this lonely flower sticking out of the bush. I think of many symbolisms to use that represent this flower. This has to be one of my favorite descriptions of that flower that I love so much 🙂 I wish it would stay there forever and serve as a reminder to us daily, to be ourselves, even if that means sticking out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

